About 30 MotorMart VW Challenge drivers will take to the 2.4km Zwartkops Raceway for the final round of the 2019 championship on Saturday, 9 November 2019. While the class championships have already been decided, the overall title is still up for grabs. Stiaan Kriel (MotorMart/Kalex Polo) has a slight advantage over defending champion Rory Atkinson (BHIT Polo) but the 2019 crown could go either way. While the top two are out of the reach of Lyle Ramsay (Monroe Racing/Fuchs Lubricants Polo), he will be looking to consolidate his third place in the overall standings. He has a ten-point advantage over Jacques Smith (Liability Matters/Dirt Nurse Polo) with Bevin Masters (The CPS Warehouse Polo) three points further back in fifth. Dawie Van der Merwe (Lee Thompson Racing Polo) occupies sixth place in the overall standings, five points ahead of Deon Holliday Jnr (Monitor Net Polo) and nine ahead of Waldie Meintjes (Allwagen Parts Polo) who rounds out the top eight.

Rory Atkinson
Rory Atkinson

While the battle at the head of Class A is likely to be between Atkinson, Ramsay and Masters, there are a number of other drivers who could challenge for a podium finish. Meintjes is likely to be among those, as are Mohamed Dangor (MotorMart Polo) and JP van der Walt (Platinum Wheels Polo). Others who are in with a chance are Derick Smalberger (Sabertek Polo), Chris Dale (Blue Belt/Pozidrive Polo), Mike Barbaglia (Litemart Polo), Eric Gander (Litemart Polo), Almero van Eck (Polo) and Ronaldo Verolini (Polo).

Jacques Smith
Jacques Smith chased Kriel for all he was worth last time out

Kriel has dominated Class B this year, taking 13 wins in the 16 races held thus far. Smith has taken a couple of victories and chased hard last time out at Zwartkops. Based on that form, the battle at the front of the class is likely to be between the two of them although Holliday Jnr and Stuart Mack (Race Technology Polo) have shown that they can run at the front. Deon Holliday Snr (Centparts Centurion Polo), Elna Croeser (Race Technology SA Polo) and Charisse van der Merwe (GTR Performance Polo) have all been regular points scorers this season, while Francois van Zyl (Jesus Saves Polo), Robbie da Silva (MotorMart Polo), Lindsay Clur (Mirage Leisure Polo), Andre Needham (Allwagen Spares Polo) Reno van Heerden (Polo) and Sohel Patel (Patel Hardware Polo) will all be looking to end the championship on a high.

Dawie van der Merwe
Dawie van der Merwe has wrapped up the Class C championship

Van der Merwe has taken nine victories on his way to the 2019 Class C title and he will be out to add a couple more to that tally at Zwartkops. His closest challenger is likely to be Andy Gossman (Allwagen Parts Polo) but Greg Gossman (Allwagen Parts Polo), Philip Croeser (ATE Polo) and  Adriaan de Beer (Polo) will also be in the chasing pack.

The drivers will have four practise sessions on Friday to prepare for race day on Saturday. Qualifying is scheduled for 09h30 with the first of the day’s 10-lap races at 12h55. Race 2 should get underway at 16h00.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *