The 2020 Pozidrive VW Challenge season reaches its conclusion at Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday, 7 November. Things got underway back in February at the start of what should have been a nine-round championship but the Covid-19 pandemic changed that with a six-month break in proceedings after the second round. Once racing resumed, there was only time for a further three rounds, the last of which will decide the overall championship this weekend.

Rory Atkinson leads at Phakisa
Rory Atkinson leads the Class A field last time out

Rory Atkinson (BHIT VW Polo) has been a model of consistency this season, winning seven of the eight heats and taking a close second in the only one he didn’t win to lead the standings from Deon Holliday Jnr (Monitor Net Polo). Bevin Masters (The CPS Warehouse Polo) is third in the standings, but too far back to fight for the 2020 title. Class C championship leader Andy Gossman (Bluebelt PoziDrive Polo) is next up, just a couple of points ahead of Stuart Mack (Bluebelt PoziDrive Polo) with Dawie van der Merwe (Universal Racing Polo) just another two points further back in sixth. Robyn Kriel (T-Rex Racing/Creative Ink/Kalex Polo), Waldie Meintjes (Bluebelt PoziDrive Polo)  and Wayne Masters (Performance Masters Polo) all have 34 points with Robbie da Silva (T-Rex Racing/Creative Ink Polo) rounding out the ton ten in the standings.

Atkinson has already wrapped up the Class A championship with Bevin Masters in a fairly comfortable second, 10 points ahead of van der Merwe who is, in turn, eight points ahead of Meintjes. Others in the Class A filed that will be looking to add to their 2020 points tally include Derick Smalberger (Sabertek Polo), Mike Barbaglia (Litemart Polo) and Chris Dale (Bluebelt Pozidrive Polo). Also in the field, although not eligible to score championship points, will be 2019 champion Stiaan Kriel (T-Rex Racing/Creative Ink Polo) and Jody Robertson (JRT Racing Polo).

Deon Holliday Jnr leads Stuart Mack
Deon Holliday Jnr leads Stuart Mack at Phakisa

As is the case with Class A, the Class B championship has already been decided with Holliday claiming the crown at the last round. Mack has a 10-point advantage over Kriel in the race for the runners-up spot with da Silva in fourth a further 5 points back. Elna Croeser (ATE Brakes Polo) left the last round without adding to her points tally after crashing out of the first heat. She will be looking for more points at Zwartkops as will Sam Dale (Bluebelt Pozidrive Polo), who is only a point behind her in the standings. Others who will be making the Class B field the biggest of the three in the Pozidrive VW Challenge include Gavin Ross (Norbrake/Metal Used Spares Polo), Leon Odendaal (Bluebelt Pozidrive Polo), Mohamed Dangor (Creative Ink /T-Rex Racing Polo), the father and son pair of Mitch and Ethan Coetzee (JRT Polo), Bryce Pillay (FK Automotive Polo) and Chris Davison (Himoinsa South Africa Polo). Elio Muzzulini (FSS International Polo), Lindsay Clur (Mirage Leisure Polo), Mauritz Nigrini (Dynamic Aircons/Creative Ink Polo), Leyton Fourie (Armal Polo) together with Andre Needham (MegaFibre Polo) and Kwanda Mokoena (JRT Racing Polo) have also indicated that they will be on the grid on Saturday.

Andy Gossman
Andy Gossman has a comfortable advantage over Adriaan de Beer

As things stand at the moment, Gossman has a 15-point lead over Adriaan de Beer (Zonke WiFi Polo) at the top of the Class C log with Philip Croeser (ATE Brakes Polo) just three points adrift of de Beer. They will be joined by Dino Smit (JRT Racing Polo), Mohammed Karodia (Fast 5 Motorsport) and Charl Anderson (Polo) in their quest for Class C bragging rights.

The drivers have three 15-minute practice sessions on Friday to get their cars ready for the serious part of the weekend which gets underway at 08h04 on Saturday morning when the qualifying session begins. The first of the two 10-lap races should get underway at 11h23 race two scheduled to begin at 14h57. As has been the case since motorsport resumed in August, the event will be run without spectators in order to comply with the regulations imposed by the Department of Sports, Arts and Culture.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *