Almost three dozen drivers will take to Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday, 14 March to contest the second round of the 2020 VW Challenge. The race for championship points gained additional importance this week with the announcement that Pozidrive and The CPS Warehouse have combined to offer the richest prize in South African regional racing, with R100 000.00 to be shared between the top three in the overall championship.

Rory Atkinson
Rory Atkinson claimed two comfortable wins at the opening round

After the opening round last month, Rory Atkinson (BHIT VW Polo) is leading that race just a single point ahead of Deon Holliday Jnr (Monitor Net Polo) with youngster Dawie van der Merwe (Lee Thompson Racing Polo) in third. Waldie Meintjes (Allwagen Parts Polo) and Stuart Mack, who will be giving his Polo its first outing in Blue Belt Pozidrive colours, occupy joint fourth spot on the log with Robyn Kriel (Motormart/Kalex Polo), Bevin Masters (The CPS Warehouse Polo) and Robbie da Silva (Motormart/SRK Polo) all a point further back. Charisse van der Merwe (Polo) and Wayne Masters (Performance Masters Polo) round out the top ten.

In Class A, Atkinson leads the way from Dawie van der Merwe and Meintjes with Bevin and Wayne Masters not far behind. The five of them should be at the front of the field together with Lyle Ramsay (Fuchs Lubricants Polo), who had a difficult start to the season. A blown motor at Red Star when running near the front of the field cost him the chance of a decent points haul. Others who will be looking for points include Mike Barbaglia (Polo) and Chris Dale (Pozidrive VW Polo).

Deon Holliday Jnr and Robyn Kriel shared the wins at Red Star Raceway
Deon Holliday Jnr and Robyn Kriel shared the wins at Red Star Raceway

Class B has the biggest entry and is always ultra-competitive. Holliday and Kriel on a great show at the opening round and will almost certainly continue that battle at Zwartkops with Mack keen to get in on the action as well. Da Silva had a great outing at Red Star and could be a threat as could Charisse van der Merwe Elna Croeser (Race Technology SA Polo), Farhhaan Basha (Motronix Polo), and Mitch and Ethan Coetzee (JRT Polo) should all be out on track as will newcomers Bryce Pillay (FK Automotive Polo) and Chris Davison (Himoinsa South Africa Polo). Gavin Ross (Norbrake/Metal Used Spares Polo) has also opted to join the Class B brigade. Former competitor Sam Dale, back in South Africa for a short holiday, will also be making an appearance in a Pozidrive Polo.

Adriaan de Beer
Adriaan de Beer leads the way in Class C

The Class C entry has grown for this round with Reno van Heerden (Polo), Roland Hopkins (Rietchard Scrap Metals Polo) and Andy Gossman (Pozzidrive Polo) and joining regulars Philip Croeser (ATE Brakes Polo) and Adriaan de Beer (Zonke WiFi Polo).

As usual, Friday will be dedicated to practice session before the more serious business of the weekend gets underway on Saturday. The drivers will tackle their qualifying session at 10h00 to determine grid positions for the first of their two 10-lap races which is scheduled for 13h50. Race 2 should get underway at 16h50.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *