Phakisa next for VW Challenge

More than 30 of South Africa’s most competitive racing Volkswagens will make their way to Phakisa Freeway for the sixth round of the 2018 MotorMart VW Challenge on Saturday, 15 August.

Jacques Smith (BPM Engineering Polo) leads the way in the overall championship – he has a slender one-point lead over Rory Atkinson (BHIT Polo) with Stiaan Kriel (Pozidrive/Kalex Polo) a further nine points back in third place. Deon Holliday Jnr (Monitor Net Polo) had a great outing last time out at Dezzi Raceway, with a with and a second place on the day moving him up to fourth on the log, two points ahead of Chris Dale (Blue Belt/Pozidrive Polo). Lyle Ramsay (Monroe Racing RSA/Fuchs Lubricants Polo) has had mixed fortunes this season but is in sixth place on the overall log, a point ahead of Roberto Joaquim (Cool Freeze/Auto Aircon Polo) with 2016 champion, Nic Clarke (Avo Performance Suspension Polo), a further point back in eighth.

Rory Atkinson

Rory Atkinson leads the way in Class A

Based on the performances so far this season the battle at the front of Class A is likely to be between Atkinson, Kriel, Ramsay and Clarke although Lee Thompson will be making his first appearance of the season in a VW Challenge car and could upset the established order. Waldie Meintjes (Dimension Signs Polo), who missed the last round at Dezzi Raceway, will be back at Phakisa and looking to close the five-point gap to Clarke in the Class A championship standings.

Wayne Masters (Performance Masters Polo) grabbed a podium finish in the second race last time out and will be out to repeat that in the Free State. Craig Gammie (GTR Performance Polo), Quinton Needham (MotorMart Polo) and Bevin Masters (The CPS Warehouse Polo) will also be out to add to their points scores.

Jacques Smith

Jacques Smith leads the overall and Class B championships

Smith continued his run of good form at Dezzi, winning the second race to bring his tally of class wins to six for the season and extend his lead at the top of the Class B championship. Holliday Jnr’s great outing has moved him up to second on the log, two points ahead of Dale. Joaquim had a great start to the season but has battled a bit since then, landing on the podium for only the second time since the season opener at Dezzi. He will be out to build on that at Phakisa.

Mohamed Dangor (MotorMart VW Polo) has had two good outings in the last two events and is now in fifth place on the Class B log, tied with Deon Holliday Snr (Centparts Centurion Polo). Stuart Mack (Race Technology Polo), Francois van Zyl (Jesus Saves Polo) and Elna Croeser (Race Technology Polo) will also be challenging for top-six finishes.

Christiaan de Wet

Class C leader Christiaan de Wet

Class C has grown as the season has progressed, with the championship being led by Christiaan de Wet (Polo). Philip Croeser (ATE Polo) is next up with Andy Gossman (Technikon Auto Spares Polo) hot on his heels.

As usual, Friday will be dedicated to practice sessions, with the qualifying session getting underway at 08h10 on Saturday morning. The first of the two 8-lap races is scheduled to get underway at 10h45, with race 2 on the card at 14h10.